Promise Zones Designated

On April 25th, 2009 Governor Jennifer Granholm announced that ten Michigan communities had been designated Promise Zones through a “first come, first served” process established by the Michigan Department of Treasury.   Each of the communities was required to have a poverty rate higher than the state average and comply with certain public notice requirements regarding the establishment of the Promise Zone.  Cities, townships, counties, school districts, and intermediate school districts were eligible to apply.

The ten communities to receive the designation were:

Baldwin School District
Battle Creek School District
Benton Harbor School District
City of Detroit
Hazel Park School District
Jackson School District
Lansing School District
Muskegon Intermediate School
Pontiac School District
Saginaw School District

Click for link to State of Michigan Press Release,1607,7-121-1755_1963-213589--,00.html