Baldwin Promise Zone 

The Baldwin Promise Zone was initiated by the Baldwin Community Schools.

Media Contact:
Ayana N. Richardson
Baldwin College Access Center
Director and Promise Zone Coordinator

Deb Smith-Olson
Baldwin Promise Authority Chair

Baldwin Promise Zone Authority
Deb Smith Olson
Chairman & CEO
Lake-Osceola State Bank

Paul Bigford
Vice Chair
Long Term Development Chair
Readiness Committee
Township Official
Vedra Gant
Secretary & Outreach
Yates Township Dial-a-Ride
Ellen Kerans
Treasurer & Outreach Chair
Retired Teacher and Consultant

Rick Simonson
Short Term Development Chair
Business and Education Consultant

Eric Lewis
Plan Development
Readiness Committee
Semi-retired Attorney
Randy Howes
Readiness Committee
Baldwin Superintendent, Retired
Bob Myers
Lake County Commissioner
Judy Eversole
Baldwin Community Schools Board Trustee
Winston Welch
Ernie Wenger
Local Business Leader

Community Profile: Baldwin

  • Free and reduced lunch: 93.3% (state average: 46.1%)
  • Unemployment rate: Lake County - 15.5%; Baldwin - 11.6%
  • 27.8% African-American ; 2.3% American Indian; 0.28% Asian; 6.1% Other
  • Adults with bachelor’s degree or higher: 8.34% (state average: 24.5%)